Material information without obligation for PE (VLD, LD, LLD, MD, MLD, HD)


Physical Mechanical Properties

At 0,90-0,96 g/ccm PE is a very light material, where by VLD = Very Low Density 0,90 g/ccm and HD = High Density 0,96 g/ccm. In the natural state PE is water-resistant. PE is very brittle. The E module, the tensile strength and the surface hardness have low values. Good resistance to expansion cracks, principally in the case of VLDP and LLD/MLD-PE. With increasing density and increasing melting index PE becomes more sensitive as regards its stretching qualities.

Thermic Properties

The permanent temperature range for use without mechanical load are, in the case of VLD-PE -50° to 80°C and in the case of LD-PE -50° to 95°C and in the case of HD-PE -50° to 105°C. The material bursts into flames at about 340°C. PE burns also outside the flame, weakly glowing and then drips down burning.

Optical and Chemical Properties

Naturally-coloured PE is translucent. If the wall thickness is reduced. PE moulded parts become more transparent. Given correspondingly-designed injection-moulding tools VLD/LLD-PE articles demonstrate a very shiny surface. Natural PE articles are UV-sensitive and go yellow with time. PE is non-polar and is therefore not susceptible to very many chemicals. It is resistant to acids, lyes, alcohol, oil and salt solutions. HDPE is also resistant to benzine. VLD-PE and LD-PE swell in aliphatic and aromatic hydrocarbons. PE is not resistant to very strong oxidation media, e.g. nitric acid. The steam permeability level is small, gas permeability level is quite high however, in comparison to other plastics.

Physiological Behaviour and Joint

Physiologically, PE is no problem unless additives dangerous to health are used. Thanks to the excellent chemical consistency only impact glues can be used. The surface of the parts must be pre-treated very carefully-flame treatment, corona removal plus subsequent base coating. If possible the material should not be glued, instead heating elements, friction or not gas welding should be used.

Resistance to Weather and Ageing

PE is sufficiently resistant to radiation within the visible range. UV radiation produces oxidation and this is increased by the presence of oxygen. PE parts go brittle therefore on the surface and over disintegrate a long period. Suitable stabilisers can delay this process.

Special Uses, Products

Transport containers, shims, pipe plugs, furniture fittings, one-way assembly aids, substitution of soft PVC by VLD-PE for highly elastic articles.

Unverbindliche Materialeigenschaften zu PE (VLD, LD, LLD, MD, MLD, HD)


Physikalisch-mechanische Eigenschaften

Mit 0,90-0,96 g/ccm ist PE ein sehr leichter Werkstoff, wobei VLD = Very Low Density 0,90 g/ccm und HD =High Density 0,96 g/ccm aufweisen. PE ist in normaler Einstellung wasserabweisend. PE ist sehr zäh. Der E-Modul, die Zugfestigkeit und die Oberflächenhärte ergeben niedrige Werte. Eine gute Dehnungsrissbeständigkeit ist vorwiegend bei VLD-PE und LLD/MLD-PE gegeben. Mit zunehmender Dichte und zunehmendem Schmelzindex wird PE dehnungsrissempfindlicher.

Thermische Eigenschaften

Die Dauergebrauchstemperaturen ohne mech. Beanspruchung liegen bei VLD-PE bei -50°C bis 80°C, bei LD-PE bei -50° bis 95°C und bei HD-PE bei -50° bis 105°C. Eine Entzündung erfolgt bei ca. 340°C. PE brennt auch außerhalb der Flamme schwach leuchtend und tropft brennend ab.

Optische und chemische Eigenschaften

Naturfarbenes PE ist transluzent. Mit abnehmender Wandstärke werden PE-Formteile durchsichtiger. VLD/LLD-PE - Artikel weisen bei entsprechend ausgelegten Spritzgießwerkzeugen eine sehr gut glänzende Oberfläche auf. Naturfarbene PE-Artikel sind UV-empfindlich und vergilben mit der Zeit. PE ist unpolar und wird daher nur von wenigen Chemikalien angegriffen. Es ist beständig gegen Säuren, Laugen, Alkohole, Öl und Salzlösungen. Darüber hinaus ist HD-PE beständig gegen Benzin. VLD-PE und LD-PE quellen in aliphatischen und aromatischen Kohlenwasserstoffen auf. PE ist nicht beständig gegen starke Oxidationsmittel (z.B. Salpetersäure). Die Wasserdampfdurchlässigkeit ist gering, die Gasdurchlässigkeit ist gegenüber anderen Kunststoffen recht hoch.

Physiologisches- und Fügeverhalten

PE ist physiologisch unbedenklich, sofern keine gesundheitsbeeinträchtigenden Additive verwendet werden. Wegen der guten Chemikalienbeständigkeit können nur Haftkleber verwendet werden. Die Oberfläche der Teile muss vorher extrem vorbehandelt sein (Abflammen, Corona-Entladung plus nachfolgender Grundierung). Wenn möglich, sollte auf das Kleben verzichtet werden und statt dessen Heizelement-, Reibungs- oder Warmgasschweißen angewendet werden.

Witterungs- und Altersbeständigkeit

Gegen Strahlung im sichtbaren Bereich ist PE ausreichend beständig. UV-Strahlung bewirkt Oxidation und wird durch Anwesenheit von Sauerstoff noch verstärkt. PE-Teile verspröden daher an der Oberfläche und zerfallen langfristig. Geeignete Stabilisatoren verzögern die Versprödung.

Sondereinstellungen, Produktbereiche

Transportbehälter, Unterlegscheiben, Rohrstopfen, Möbelbeschläge, Einwegmontagehilfen, Substitution von Weich-PVC durch VLD-PE bei hochelastischen Artikeln.