Material information without obligation for Polypropylen

Physical and Mechanical Properties

With 0,90-0,91 g/ccm polypropylene is a very light material. PP has good stress crack resistance, a good toughness and an excellent permanent fatique strength (given suitable fibre cross sections). The service life decreases as the temperature increases. PP is water resistant. As regards hardness PP is at the upper limits of HD-PE and bridges the gap to PA6. With modern catalytic agents variations are to be expected which will cover the whole range of the harder thermoplastic elastomers, as far as a long way into the PA range.

Thermic Properties

The temperature range for permanent use of PP without a mechanical load is from approx. -40° to 110° C. For a short time PP can also withstand temperatures of about 140° C. It starts to burn at about 330° C. It burns with a weak flame and produces burning drops.

Optical and Chemical Properties

In its natural colour PP can be seen through but is not completely transparent. As the wall thickness reduces, PP moulded parts become increasingly transparent. Random co-polymers are almost completely transparent. PP is non-polar and can therefore only be attacked by very few chemicals. It is resistant to watery, salt solutions, acids and alkalis. It is resistant to alcohol solutions up to 60° C and solutions of washing lyes. It swells up when exposed to halogenised hydrocarbons and at increased temperatures by grease, oil and wax. Given suitable colouration on a polyeurethane and acrylic base PP can be varnished.

Physiological Behaviour and Joint

PP is taste and smell neutral and can be exposed to the skin unless additives are used which are harmful to health (e.g. UV and copper stabilisers). Thanks to its good chemical consistency only impact glues can be used. The surface of the parts must be scuffed or base-coated first. PP can be jointed via heat element, friction, vibration or hot gas welding.

Weathering and Ageing

In the visible area PP is adequately resistant to radiation. UV rays produce oxidation of the surface of PP parts and lead therefore to brittleness and eventually to disintegration. A suitable colouration, e.g. soot, acts as a stabiliser, but reduces the resistance to ageing through heat.

Special Uses, Products

Glass fibre and other fillers designed to strengthen the material, various stabilisers, conductive materials for improving electrical conductivity. Storage and transport containers, covers, fan wheels, furniture fittings, housings for electrical appliances.

Unverbindliche Materialinformationen zu Polypropylen (Block-Copolymer)

Physikalisch-mechanische Eigenschaften

Mit 0,90-0,91 g/ccm ist PP ein sehr leichter Werkstoff. PP weist eine gute Spannungsrissbeständigkeit, eine gute Zähigkeit und eine hervorragende Dauerbiegefestigkeit bei geeigneten Querschnitten auf. Die Zeitstandfestigkeit nimmt mit zunehmender Temperatur stark ab. PP ist wasserabweisend. In der Härte schließt PP an den oberen Bereich von HD-PE an und schließt die Lücke zu PA6. Mit neuartigen Katalysatoren sind Einstellungen zu erwarten, die den gesamten Bereich der härteren thermoplastischen Elastomere bis weit in den Bereich des PA abdecken.

Thermische Eigenschaften

Die Dauergebrauchstemperatur von PP ohne mech. Beanspruchung liegt bei ca. -40° bis 110° C. Kurzfristig hält PP auch ca. 140° C stand. Eine Entzündung erfolgt ab ca. 330° C. PP brennt mit schwach leuchtender Flamme und tropft brennend ab.

Optische und chemische Eigenschaften

Naturfarbenes PP ist transparent, aber nicht glasklar. Mit abnehmender Wandstärke werden PP-Formteile durchsichtiger. Random-Copolymere sind fast glasklar. PP ist unpolar und wird daher nur von wenigen Chemikalien angegriffen. Es ist beständig gegen wässrige Salzlösungen, Säuren und Alkalien. Es ist widerstandsfähig gegen Alkohole, Lösungsmittel bis ca. 60° C und Waschlaugenlösungen. Es wird aufgequollen durch halogenisierte Kohlenwasserstoffe, bei erhöhten Temperaturen auch durch Fette, Öle und Wachse. PP kann mit geeigneten Farben auf Basis von Polyurethan und Acryl lackiert werden.

Physiologisches- und Fügeverhalten

PP ist geschmacks- und geruchsneutral und hautverträglich, sofern nicht gesundheitsbeeinträchtigende Additive verwendet werden (z.B. UV - und Kupferstabilisatoren). Durch die gute chemische Beständigkeit bedingt können nur Haftkleber verwendet werden. Die Oberfläche der Teile muss vorher aufgeraut oder grundiert werden. PP kann mittels Heizelement-, Reibungs-, Vibrations- oder Warmgasschweißen gefügt werden.

Witterungs- und Alterbeständigkeit

Gegen Strahlung im sichtbaren Bereich ist PP ausreichend beständig. UV-Strahlung bewirkt eine Oxidation der Oberfläche von PP-Teilen und führt daher zur Versprödung und zum Zerfall. Eine geeignete Einfärbung, z.B. mit Ruß, stabilisiert, vermindert aber die Wärmealterungsbeständigkeit.

Sondereinstellungen, Produktbereiche

Glasfasern und andere festigkeitssteigernde Füllstoffe, div. Stabilisatoren, leitfähige Stoffe zur Verbesserung der elektr. Leifähigkeit. Lager- und Transportbehälter, Abdeckungen, Lüfteräder, Möbelbeschläge, Gehäuse für Elektrogeräte.